Pizza

When I was online for the bathroom at *Casa Bianca Pizza Pie last night, the woman in front of me told me about how she had one child and wanted another, but, after five years, she and her husband called it quits. I think she was talking about their relationship. Then she said she wanted to have a second with her late husband. They tried and she had a number of miscarriages because she had fibroids. This was all while my friend was peeing inside the bathroom, so about five minutes, give or take a minute or two.

So space them every too years, she advised, if you’re young enough. Well, I’m no spring chicken, I said, as I walked out, my friend walking right behind me. Oh, she said as we left, you look young! Good, I said. My friend laughed. Sometimes I don’t know what to say, I said.

How could she have known that I do want two kids? How could she have known that I wonder if having another will be possible, even after only two more years? How could she have known that I had fibroids, although they seemed to have shrunk during these past six months and no longer show up in the sonogram? She couldn’t have, and yet there she was, waiting for me in the bathroom line, to show me one version of my future.

*Recommended for any woman with a craving for mozzarella sticks and a wedge salad with anchovies and ranch dressing.

Leave a Reply

